Saturday, January 5, 2013

LESSER ANGELS by Ken Hensley

After Rita and Sandifer Ferguson's mother passes away they begin to sort through her things in preparation of selling her home. They are shocked to find an old envelope in the back of the closet containing a Certificate of Divorce. Rita and Sandifer are complete opposites about pretty much everything, but they do agree on a couple of things. One, neither of them knew about their mother's previous marriage and two, they both want to find their mom's first husband. As they search for information they gain much more than just the knowledge of family they didn't know they had.

Lesser Angels is subtitled, 'Finding What You Didn't Know Was Lost' and I think that's a great summation of the story. It begins with the death of Pauline (Rita and Sandifer's mother) and continues with flashbacks to the WWII era where Pauline tells her story. You also learn through further flashbacks, the stories of several other key people and how they all fit together. Rita and Sandifer share reflective moments with the readers and we see just how profound those reflective moments can be in their lives. The story brings to light the reality of people. I was reminded that we all have sinned and fall short of the Glory of God. But I was also reminded that the Lord is always working in our lives. Sometimes through those lesser angels. Though this is a very poignant story, it does have lots of tongue-in-cheek type humor which I thoroughly enjoyed. I must say I particularly liked the way it ended though an epilog would have been great. Lesser Angels is a fiction story with its root of truth from the authors own experience. So... how well do you know your parents?

Paperback: 214 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (November 25, 2012)
ISBN-10: 1481058010
ISBN-13: 978-1481058018

*This complimentary copy provided by the author in exchange for an honest review*

No comments:

Book I've Been Reading...

Sherry's bookshelf: read

Almost Like Being in Love
Wanted: Royal Princess Miracle Bride: Royal Hearts of Mondoverde Series, Vol. 3
Her Rancher Bodyguard
Traces of Guilt
The Stronghold
Close to You
Protecting Her Daughter
The Goodbye Bride
The Rancher's First Love
Reclaiming His Past
Keeper of the Stars
Cold Shot
Mermaid Moon
Thin Ice
Buried Secrets
Murder at Black Lake
Christmas With Miss Austen
Falling Like Snowflakes
Married 'til Monday
Second Chance Hero

Sherry's favorite books »