Saturday, January 14, 2012


Alexia Allen fights fires. When she has a brush with death while trying to save a child she is ordered to take leave while the incident is under investigation. She decides to attend her 10 year class reunion and stay at her moms house. As soon as she arrives trouble starts. Hunter Graham was drawn to Alexia in high school but she didn't seem to show any interest. Now ten years later he's Detective Graham and still finds himself drawn to her. Even when it seems she's in the center of all kinds of trouble, from murder to arson. Not to mention family secrets. Who is really behind all the trouble and will she survive long enough to actually find out?

From beginning to end, When the Smoke Clears is loaded with non-stop action and suspense! I literally could not flip pages fast enough. I was totally enthralled with not only the story but the characters as well. The family dynamics in Alexia's family as well as Hunter's family we realistically portrayed. I was completely on the edge of my seat through the whole book and while the end is partially concluded (in a satisfying way), the door is wide open for the next book in the series. Which I can not wait to read!!! Two things came across to me while I was reading. One, no matter what we go through God walks through it with us. Always working in every situation. Two, that God can change hearts and forgiveness is part of that change. That's not always easy as we see in Alexia's case. I thoroughly enjoyed When the Smoke Clears and would highly recommend it. It's an edge-of-your-seat tale that once you pick it up, you won't be able to put it down!!! It's Book 1 in the Deadly Reunions Series. A thank you goes to Lynette Eason as well as Revell for providing this complimentary copy for my review! Well done Lynette!!!!
Paperback: 352 pages
Publisher: Revell (February 1, 2012)
ISBN-10: 0800720075
ISBN-13: 978-0800720070

No comments:

Book I've Been Reading...

Sherry's bookshelf: read

Almost Like Being in Love
Wanted: Royal Princess Miracle Bride: Royal Hearts of Mondoverde Series, Vol. 3
Her Rancher Bodyguard
Traces of Guilt
The Stronghold
Close to You
Protecting Her Daughter
The Goodbye Bride
The Rancher's First Love
Reclaiming His Past
Keeper of the Stars
Cold Shot
Mermaid Moon
Thin Ice
Buried Secrets
Murder at Black Lake
Christmas With Miss Austen
Falling Like Snowflakes
Married 'til Monday
Second Chance Hero

Sherry's favorite books »