Thursday, August 8, 2013


Serena Hopkins likes her job as medical examiner, but when she's called out to the scene of a murder, she not only discovers that the victim was a fellow classmate but the killer's MO looks hauntingly familiar. Dominic Allen, FBI agent assigned to the case, remembers Serena as the little girl who was his sister's friend. But Dominic discovers she not a little girl anymore, she's turned into a beautiful woman and he and Serena experience an immediate attraction. There's a killer on the loose and they must work together to figure out who it is before he strikes again. The secret Serena's keeping has put her next on killer's list. Can she trust Dominic enough to tell him the secret and can Dominic keep her from ending up as another victim?

This is 337 pages of high-octane suspense. So be prepared! You'll be turning pages like nobody's business while frequently looking over your shoulder! (Did you hear that noise?) I mean, you're dealing with a serial killer and, I've got to tell you, this author nailed the creepiness of that really well. I enjoyed the interaction between Serena and Dominic. Serena was a woman of inner strength. Dominic was a wonderful hero, strong yet gentle. They had a history together and it was great watching the development of there relationship. When the Heart Stops picks up about three weeks after "When the Smoke Clears" (a book I also recommend) so you'll definitely want to read this series in order. This story has a conclusion but also leaves you with unsolved issues that I'm sure will be solved in the final installment. Now I'm looking forward to reading "When a Secret Kills".

Series: Deadly Reunions (Book 2)
Paperback: 336 pages
Publisher: Revell; Original edition (October 1, 2012)
ISBN-10: 0800720083
ISBN-13: 978-0800720087

For information about this book or other books by Lynette Eason, I encourage you to visit her website at

No comments:

Book I've Been Reading...

Sherry's bookshelf: read

Almost Like Being in Love
Wanted: Royal Princess Miracle Bride: Royal Hearts of Mondoverde Series, Vol. 3
Her Rancher Bodyguard
Traces of Guilt
The Stronghold
Close to You
Protecting Her Daughter
The Goodbye Bride
The Rancher's First Love
Reclaiming His Past
Keeper of the Stars
Cold Shot
Mermaid Moon
Thin Ice
Buried Secrets
Murder at Black Lake
Christmas With Miss Austen
Falling Like Snowflakes
Married 'til Monday
Second Chance Hero

Sherry's favorite books »